Rental Scam Warning |
A Client of mine in Vermont told me about the following. This is e-mail he sent to his office and forwarded to me to share with my clients. I thought I would share it with everyone.
For those of you who advertise rental property on CraigsList.com.
Someone has been copying one of my rental listings. They set up a Yahoo mail account using my name and was impersontating me through emails with prospective tenants who respond to this bogus copy of my ad. They are attempting to get a deposit check from the potential renters to "hold" the apartment.
I “flagged” the bogus listing on CraigsList.com. They removed it immediately. I reported it to State authorities. I’m more concerned with potential tenants who might have gotten sucked into this scam. If you currently have anything listed on CraigsList.com I suggest that you do a search and make sure there are no bogus duplicates of your rental listings just to be safe.
As Agent’s you may want to alert your spheres of influence about this as well.
I told John I would include his contact info as a favor for sharing this, in case you have referrals going to Colchester, Vermont.
Here it is
John Abry
RE/MAX North Professionals
802.861.3278 direct
800.639.4520 toll free
john@802agent.com
