Latest Articles

2008-03-14 18:14:00

NAR Looks for Minority Homeownership Champions

Applications are now being accepted for the fifth HOPE (Home Ownership Participation for Everyone) Awards. The HOPE Awards is a national industry awards program that recognizes individuals and organizations that are making outstanding contributions to increase minority homeownership, revitalize communities and expand affordable housing opportunities across the country.
Many American families own their home, but not everyone realizes the dream of homeownership. While more than three out of four white households own their own home, only half of minority households enjoy the benefits of homeownership. The HOPE Awards honors those who strive to remove barriers to minority homeownership and focus public attention on that vital issue.

The HOPE Awards is sponsored by a partnership of real estate associations; awards are conferred every other year. HOPE Awards winners receive $10,000, national media coverage, paid travel expenses to attend and speak at a minority housing symposium, and recognition at the HOPE Awards Gala in May 2009.
The categories for the HOPE Awards are Finance, Homeownership Education, Leadership, Media, Project of the Year, Public Policy, and Real Estate Brokerage. Entries are evaluated by a panel of distinguished judges, based on the impact of the nominee’s work in promoting minority homeownership, focus on affordability, use of innovative ideas, and acceptance by the minority community.

Individuals, nonprofit and for-profit organizations, and state and local agencies are eligible. Self-nominations are encouraged.

The fourth HOPE Awards, which were granted in May 2007, honored the Colorado Housing Assistance Corp. (Finance); Marcus Luke II and Pamela Ranslam-Schofield, Umatilla Reservation Housing Authority, Pendleton, Ore. (Homeownership Education); Chickie Grayson, Enterprise Homes Inc., Baltimore (Leadership); Monsignor William Linder New Community Corp., Newark, N.J. (Project of the Year); Father Vien The Nguyen, Mary Queen of Vietnam Church, New Orleans (Public Policy); and Berenice Gomez, Harvest Home Mortgage, Melville, N.Y. (Real Estate Brokerage). No award was made in the media category in 2007.

HOPE Awards entries must be received by December 5, 2008.  For HOPE Awards entry forms and submission guidelines, visit or call 202/383-1013. Winners will be announced in April 2009. The HOPE Awards Gala will take place in Washington, D.C., in May 2009.

The HOPE Partners are the Asian Real Estate Association of America, Chinese American Real Estate Professionals Association, Chinese Real Estate Association of America, National Association of Hispanic Real Estate Professionals, National Assn. of Real Estate Brokers® and the National Assn. of REALTORS®.

Related Post

Industry, Education

Negotiating Tip 114: Retreat Negotiations

March 29, 2019

Industry, Education

Negotiating Tip 113: Activating Our Opponent

March 28, 2019

Industry, Education

Negotiating Tip 112: Misconceptions

March 27, 2019

2021 Real Town The Real Estate Network